Virginia State University



The University Virginia State University. Founded in 1882, is the nation’s first, fully state-assisted, historically black college or university. Located in historic Chesterfield County, on a bluff overlooking the Appomattox River, sits 236 acres of history and tradition, “Virginia State University”. A comprehensive university encompassing both undergraduate and graduate divisions, VSU is one of two land grant institutions in the Commonwealth of Virginia. With a mission emphasizing the integration of academic instruction, research, and public service, Virginia State welcomes students of any race, religion, or ethnic heritage.

Areas of Expertise

VSU offers 32 programs leading to a Bachelor’s Degree, 13 Masters Degrees, and One Doctoral Degree. Five schools comprise the university’s undergraduate division: the School of Agriculture; the School of Engineering and Technology; the School of Liberal Arts and Education; the School of Business; and the School of Graduate Studies, Research and Outreach. What sets this university apart from all others is its “family structure”, which is emphasized in its small class sizes that give individualized academic instruction.

On Campus Housing

Academic Facilities In the first academic year, 1883-1884, the University had 126 students and seven faculty (all of them Black), one building, 33 acres, a 200-book library, and a $20,000.00 budget. By the centennial year of 1982, the University was fully integrated, with a student body of nearly 5,000, a full-time faculty of about 250, a library containing over 200,000 books and 360,000 microform and non-print items, a 236-acre campus and 416-acre farm with research and testing facilities, more than 50 buildings, including 15 dormitories and 16 classroom buildings, and a state of the art corporate extension building. Virginia State’s radio and Television stations, WVST-91.3 FM and VSUN are great resources for Mass Communication students.


The final piece of the VSU puzzle is it’s athletic program. Our teams compete in the Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA), which is a Division II NCAA unit. We have 15 athletic sports from men’s baseball, basketball, cross-country, football, golf, indoor and outdoor track, and tennis, to women’s basketball, bowling, cross-country, golf, indoor and outdoor track, softball, tennis, and volleyball.


Student Government Student Government at Virginia State University is part of the student activities program, which is considered a vital element of the total educational program. We believe in the education of the complete individual. the President of the SGA sits on the Board of Visitors.


There are over 125 student organizations and clubs including all nine Greek organizations.

Special Services

To earn a Bachelor's Degree, students must generally complete a minimum of 120 semester hours, depending on the program of study. Engineering students should expect to earn 128 semester hours to qualify for the degree. Through the Continuing Education and Out-Reach program, students can pursue an education outside traditional daytime class work. Participants in the program include part-time students, as well as many full-time students who have been away from a formal educational experience for two or more years and want to pursue courses for personal fulfillment or career advancement. The Continuing Education program includes Summer School, weekend classes, Inter-Session, and extension programs.

International Involvement

We do offer exchange programs and work study programs, please visit out web site at to find out more information.

Campus Tour

Campus tours are offered on Tuesdays and Thursdays at 10:00 a.m. and 2:00 p.m., please call to set up a tour of the University.


Location The University is situated in Chesterfield County at Ettrick, on a bluff across the Appomattox River from the city of Petersburg. It is accessible via Interstate Highways 95 and 85, which meet in Petersburg. The University is only two and a half hours away from Washington, D.C. to the north, the Raleigh-Durham-Chapel Hill area to the southwest, and Charlottesville to the northwest.

Modified on October 19, 2012